Combat Jiu-Jitsu Welterweight World Championship 2023: Tackett Emerges Victorious

The highly-anticipated Combat Jiu-Jitsu Welterweight World Championship 2023 took place on March 26th, 2023, and fans were treated to an exhilarating display of top-tier grappling talent.

The event saw sixteen elite competitors in the division battling it out for the title, alongside two special events, one of which featured Bellator and PFL veteran Ian Butler.

Exciting Matches and Upsets

The matches did not disappoint, as grapplers put their skills on display with some thrilling performances. In one of the events, Butler lost in EBI overtime to Angel Villegas, while Mike John submitted Jacob Small in regulation time.

As for the tournament, Andrew Tackett emerged as the star of the event, submitting his first three opponents in a combined 6 minutes and 15 seconds, with the third coming after an epic short match with Davis Asare.

Impressive Performance by Alan Sanchez

Tackett’s opponent in the final, Alan Sanchez, was also impressive in his run to the final, submitting all three of his opponents in just 3 minutes and 44 seconds. Both fighters were fresh and ready for the final showdown of the Combat Jiu-Jitsu Welterweight World Championship, and they engaged in an intense war that lasted the entire regulation time and every round of EBI overtime.

Tackett Takes Home the Championship

When the results were read, Tackett was declared the winner by fastest escape time, much to the delight of his supporters. Tackett’s victory was well-deserved, as he put on a dominant display of grappling throughout the tournament, showcasing his impressive skills and technique.

Combat Jiu Jitsu Worlds 2023: The Welterweights Results

Special Matches

Angel Villegas defeated Ian Butler via Submission in Overtime Round 2, Top Half
Mike John defeated Jacob Small via Triangle at 1:00 of Regulation


Opening Round

Derek Rayfield defeated Shane Shapiro via Submission (Anaconda) at 4:54 of Regulation

Jacob Rosales defeated Oscar De Los Santos via Overtime

Aaron Harris defeated Andrew Kochel via Fastest Escape Time

Alan Sanchez defeated Ivan Leyva via Submission (RNC) at 0:57 of Regulation

Davis Asare defeated Kaleio Romero via Submission (RNC) at 2:58 of Regulation

Mikey Gonzalez defeated Aaron Wilson via Submission (Heel Hook) at 8:38 of Regulation

Bobby Emmons defeated Bruno Cannetti via Fastest Escape Time After Overtime Rounds

Andrew Tackett defeated Nicholas Willey via Submission (RNC) at 2:28 of Regulation


Derek Rayfield defeated Jacob Rosales via Submission (Dead Orchard) at 1:39 of Regulation

Alan Sanchez defeated Aaron Harris via Submission (Mounted Guillotine) at 0:32 of Regulation

Davis Asare defeated Mikey Gonzalez via Submission (Straight Ankle Lock) at 1:02 of Regulation

Andrew Tackett defeated Bobby Emmons via Submission (RNC) at 1:28 of Regulation


Alan Sanchez defeated Derek Rayfield via Submission (Heel Hook) at 2:15 of Regulation

Andrew Tackett defeated Davis Asare via Submission (RNC) at 2:19 of Regulation


Andrew Tackett defeated Alan Sanchez via Fastest Escape Time After Overtime Rounds