In a recent Brazilian jiu-jitsu tournament, a truly remarkable and rare event unfolded. A participant astounded the audience by securing victory through an ingenious maneuver: a submission executed using his own Gi belt.
Baret Yoshida stands as an esteemed figure in the realm of Brazilian jiu-jitsu, his reputation firmly established as a BJJ black belt. Hailing from Hawaii, Yoshida’s name resonates with an aura of grappling excellence, underscored by his numerous triumphs in diverse grappling competitions and tournaments. Moreover, his contribution to the sport extends to inventive techniques that have proven both innovative and effective.
Central to Yoshida’s repertoire is a distinctive technique employing a Gi belt within gi jiu-jitsu. The martial artist gained viral recognition following a match at the 2022 F2W 210 event hosted in September.
A video clip recently circulated on social media, capturing a pivotal moment in the match. Yoshida adeptly maneuvered his adversary into a crucifix position before masterfully enacting an assassin submission, using his own Gi belt as a tool. Loosening the belt, he deftly encircled his opponent’s neck from the front.
Initially taken aback, Yoshida’s opponent swiftly defended his neck, resisting the chokehold’s grasp. Undeterred, Yoshida adapted his approach, this time encircling the belt from the rear of his adversary’s neck. The maneuver successfully took hold, leaving his opponent struggling valiantly but ultimately unable to escape its clutches. Despite his tenacious efforts to evade defeat, he succumbed and lost consciousness without tapping.
Enthusiastic fans flocked to the comment section of the shared clip, their admiration for Yoshida’s skill evident:
“Executing an assassin choke with a belt showcases an unprecedented level of expertise.”
“Now that’s a mind-boggling move.”
While employing the belt for control and positioning is a common practice within Gi jiu-jitsu, using it to secure a chokehold is a rarity. This unconventional move raises questions about its conformity to tournament rules. Interestingly, in select tournaments, utilizing a belt for choking maneuvers is deemed permissible.
However, the rule governing this technique isn’t straightforward. Participants are exclusively allowed to use their own belt, with a stipulation that the knot remains intact. Should a competitor remove the knot to execute a submission, the act constitutes a foul.